Girls - Album
Critic Score
Based on 22 reviews
2009 Ratings: #45 / 834
Year End Rank: #12
User Score
Based on 194 ratings
2009 Ratings: #14
September 22, 2009 / Release Date
LP / Format
True Panther Sounds / Label
Suggest a Genre
Abuse of this feature may prevent future contributions from your account.
Your Review
Sign In to rate and review



Girls frontman Christopher Owens grew up in the Children of God cult. His older brother died as a baby because the cult didn't believe in medical attention. His dad left. He and his mother lived around the world, and the cult sometimes forced his mother to prostitute herself. As a teenager, Owens fled and lived as a Texas gutter-punk for a while. Then a local millionaire took Owens under his wing, and Owens moved to San Francisco. There, he and Chet "JR" White formed Girls, and recorded Album, their debut album, under the influence of just about every kind of pill they could find.

Drowned in Sound

As unconventional musical ensembles go, Girls must surely register at the top of the pile when it comes to spontaneous muddled creations that confound any kind of pre-conceived expectations. Much loved by both the New York art-rock fraternity and UK underground indie scenes alike, this San Francisco duo and their assorted helping hands have somehow managed to conjure up an Album that doesn't just hop between genres at random like an overexcited rabbit, but actually creates its own guessing game in the process, enticing the listener into a rabid frenzy of self-doubt. "What will come next?" indeed.

Such an endearing and emotional record, that is filled with sweet melodic sounds. The front-man of this band Christopher Owens brings much conviction with his song-writing, which at times can be spirited and other times bitter-sweet. If you know the back story of Owen's you know how much of a troubled life he had. You can hear with the sounds of the album of a worship to the beach boys or the ventures especially a track like "Big bad mean mother fucker" a surfer-rock sound. Other than ... read more
A nice summery feel-good indie pop/rock album that unfortunately gets dragged down by a lot of unneccessary filler. The first three singles released for Girls' debut, Hellhole Ratrace, Lust for Life, and Laura practically tower over most of the rest of this album in terms of songwriting quality. Instead of continuing this streak of well-written songs, frontman Christopher Owens saw it fit to throw in a bunch of tracks that aren't anywhere close to being fully fleshed out, either to add extra ... read more
This album is so good in the way that it manages to link many different styles by the unique singing of Christopher Owens. Every track is a standout track that could be released as a single but they manage to fit together in a way to create a truly sublime album. The lyrics and the production show an amazing use of ironic detachment which is actually very moving. My favourites of the tracks are "Headache" and "Morning Light". This is a must listen.
Very inspiring.
12. Lauren Marie
11. Curls
10. Summertime
9. Morning Light
8. God Damned
7. Headache
6. Darling
5. Lust for Life
4. Big Bad Mean Motherfucker
3. Ghost Mouth
2. Hellhole Ratrace
1. Laura
Just nothing of substance from this album, with a few tirelessly self-indulgent and repetitive tracks. Just couldn't get into this one.

Favorite track: God Damned
Purchasing Album from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?

Track List


  1. Lust For Life
  2. Laura
  3. Ghostmouth
  4. Goddamn
  5. Big Bad Mean Motherfucker
  6. Hellhole Ratrace
  7. Headache 
  8. Summertime
  9. Lauren Marie
  10. Morning Light
  11. Curls
  12. Darling


Sign in to comment
No one has said anything yet.
In Library (28)