Moodymann - Moodymann
Critic Score
Based on 5 reviews
2014 Ratings: #88 / 975
User Score
Based on 55 ratings
2014 Ratings: #179
January 20, 2014 / Release Date
LP / Format
Mahogani / Label
Sign In to rate and review
An extrangely delicate piece of house and funk. The use of jazzy loops and instrumentation is delicious. By moments it's enigmatic, mysterious, disperse, puzzling but cleverly thinked. I really like the use of voice in this album, not only the vocals, which are great, but its sampling and manipulation.

My favorites: No (what a seductive voice and bass), Lyk U Use 2 (makes me sigh), ULookLykIceCreamInTheSummertime (the second part is outstanding) & sloppy cosmic.
The veteran DJ and producer returns with a full lenght LP that is both seductive and contagious. The lenghty tracklisting guards some interesting deep house tracks that are really difficult to found anywhere else these days. Moodymann has a unique production style that sets his work apart from a whole lot of both the mainstream and the underground electronic producers, and this selft-titled album shows that very clearly. The results aren't always that effective here, but there is enough ... read more
FAVORITE TRACKS: Hold It Down, Desire, Lyk U Use 2, No, Born 2 Die, Sloppy Cosmic .

LEAST FAVORITE: Come 2 Me & Got Dem Freaks Wit Me.
pure uncut funk
Purchasing Moodymann from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Contributions By
patton, thisisabtlgrnd, erik
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Track List

  1. Jimmy D...Nickle
  2. Hold It Down
  3. Never Quite The Same
  4. Desire
  5. You're 2 Moody
  6. Lyk U Use 2 (feat. Andres)
  7. No 
  8. I Got Werk
  9. Max Julien Jacket
  10. IGuessuneverbeenlonely
  11. U Don't Even Lyk This Song
  12. Come 2 Me
  13. Ulooklykicecreaminthesummertyme (feat. Nikki O)
  14. How do U Get 2 Detroit
  15. Radio
  16. Yet Unknown
  17. Born 2 Die
  18. The Most Fearful
  19. I Still Don't Know Yo Name
  20. Watchin U
  21. PonyDownCrew
  22. Got Dem Freaks Wit Me
  23. Freeki Muthafucka
  24. Sunday Hotel
  25. Girl
  26. Sloppy Cosmic
  27. Heaven
Sign in to comment
No one has said anything yet.

Added on: February 27, 2014