Erick The Architect - Future Proof
Critic Score
Based on 1 review
User Score
Based on 73 ratings
2021 Ratings: #35
Liked by 2 people
January 22, 2021 / Release Date
EP / Format
Erick The Architect / Label
Sign In to rate and review



Spread across five tracks with assistance from a boast-worthy line up of artists including Loyle Carner, Col3trane, FARR, Sophie Faith, Linden Jay and Pip Millett, we journey through an array of emotions that each tell their own narrative.


A powerful ode to the resilience of African Americans. Through catchy beats and seamless rhymes, the frustrations of the current generation is expressed. The EP expresses the real frustration that change is not happening fast enough and their fear of losing loved ones for no good reason due to police brutality. With only 5 tracks, it's very short but the lyrical content is quite rich and overall I really enjoyed it.

Favourite tracks: WTF, Let it go, Selfish
Production is lovely and Erick gets much more personal than he usually does on FBZ records. Pretty good EP.
This is a very smooth and relaxing listen. The beats are sick AF, the flows of Erick The Architect and the features that he brings to the table are clear and diverting in a great way. Loved songs like "WTF" and "Die 4 U" on this EP.

Some reasons I wish it was stronger is the song "Let It Go", didn't really connect with me as much as the other 4 tracks did. Also just the fact that it's only 18 minutes, I wanted more!!

A very personal project, with some nice laidback beats, decent flow and average features. Low-key telling some stories and tales. Definitely a good bump in the summer with your girl around.
I'll keep this brief since this is only a few tracks within an EP but having never heard of Erick The Architect prior to listening to this, I am very impressed.

'Future Proof' presents a small collection of tracks that really stand out from the crowd. For one, Erick's lyrical substance across this EP is quite fascinating. For instance, tracks like 'WTF' and 'Selfish' detail topics of race delivered through polished lyricism and flows. We also are able to see him detail more personal thoughts ... read more
Purchasing Future Proof from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Contributions By
anztec, TeBo47
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Track List

  1. I Can't Lose
  2. WTF (ft. Col3trane)
  3. Let It Go (ft. Loyle Carner & FARR)
  4. Die 4 U (ft. Sophie Faith)
  5. Selfish (ft. Pip Millett)
Sign in to comment
No one has said anything yet.

Added on: January 18, 2021