Frontierer - Oxidized
Critic Score
Based on 2 reviews
User Score
Based on 120 ratings
2021 Ratings: #192
Liked by 16 people
Sign In to rate and review


The Needle Drop

Oxidized might just be 2021's most vicious sonic beating, and your mileage will most certainly vary based on that.


I had no clue what to expect from this album, but holy shit I just got my ass beat in the best way possible!

This was just incredible. Everything about this album was just immaculate, from the blaring loud guitars to the screaming desperate sounding vocals, to the fuzzy but amazing production, was all just incredible. The aggressiveness in these tracks just completely floored me, on tracks like "Disintegrative" and "Stereopticon". This was literally everything I could've ... read more


Tried doing math homework to this album that's supposedly "mathcore,"... it did not go so well


this helped me complete my biology homework


This is really good! It just gets tiring after a while. The sound Frontierer went for on this album is both interesting, and super unique for metal as a whole. I just feel like it's a little too long for what little variety it has. It's good, but by the end, I just feel kinda tired and a bit bored of the constant noise.


I really wished I liked this band's output more. I appreciate the effort to go as far in the wild side of metalcore as one possibly could, but Frontierer desperately need to start thinking about pace changes more often than they currently are. It's because of this that their core appeal sounds like a gimmick on both records I've heard from them. They need more breakpoints that apply the band's unique insanity in a different context, i.e. the industrial application on "SVVANS" or even ... read more


Exhausting and pulverizing describes Frontierer's album "Oxidized". The best, and unfortunately, the worst comes from both descriptors.

On one hand; I appreciate the style of music this band tries to create a lot. It reminds me a lot of bands like Whourkr and Phantomsmasher with its usage of hardcore electronic, but it also reminds me quite a bit of stuff like the more noisier Converge albums and in some instances, stuff like Black Tongue. The main issue I have with this is that they ... read more

Purchasing Oxidized from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Track List

  1. Heirloom
  2. Corrosive Wash
  3. Opaque Horizon
  4. Death/
  5. Disintegrative
  6. This Magnetic Drift
  7. LK WX
  8. Southern Hemmorhage
  9. Svvans
  10. Stereopticon
  11. Removal of the Copper Iris and the Lightning Pill
  12. Motherboard
  13. Daydark
  14. Glacial Plasma
  15. The Damage and the Sift
  16. /Hope
Sign in to comment

Added on: July 15, 2021