Deadmau5 - while(1<2)
Critic Score
Based on 6 reviews
2014 Ratings: #741 / 953
User Score
Based on 66 ratings
2014 Ratings: #330
June 17, 2014 / Release Date
LP / Format
Mau5trap, Astralwerks, Virgin EMI / Label
Suggest a Genre
Abuse of this feature may prevent future contributions from your account.
www.deadmau5.com / Website
Sign In to rate and review
While(1<2) can best be described as Joel Zimmerman's most coherent and cohesive record to date—it's certainly not a concept album, but it has a lurking gloominess throughout that could be derivative of his publicized on-and-off relationship (and engagement) with American TV personality and tattoo artist Kat Von D.

For deadmau5's cult listeners at least, While(1<2) is definitely his most accomplished work since his Get Scraped days. Though his continuous formula remains inaccessible ... read more
Disclaimer: review of only Disc 2
(Disc 1, is too far out of my listening range. while some pieces show great mood in their intros, they get eaten away by what I guess is progressive dub-step? no clue.)

Disc 2 sounds like he wants to follow Trent Reznor into the soundtrack route, but unlike Trent his discography is with no meaning, tone-deaf and just cringy to look at let alone listen to.

Furthermore his fanbase are definitely not going to be interested in what he is doing here, I'm here ... read more
This album is long and boring. I feel like deadmau5 thinks he is somekind of god of trance but this just shows that maybe his best days have past bye deadmau5.
He's a douche with a stupid ass look and a worse name, runs his mouth on twitter, would get fucked up irl in a fight, and drops pretentious, boring, repetitive records like this. This one drones on forever, at least he kept it short before.
those last 30 minutes...
Purchasing while(1<2) from Amazon helps support Album of the Year. Or consider a donation?
Become a Donor
Donor badge, no ads + more benefits.

Track List

Disc 1

  1. Avaritia
  2. Coelacanth I
  3. Ice Age (by How to Destroy Angels) (deadmau5 Remix)
  4. My Pet Coelacanth
  5. Infra Turbo Pigcart Racer
  6. Terrors in My Head
  7. Creep
  8. Somewhere Up Here
  9. Phantoms Can't Hang
  10. Gula

Disc 2

  1. Acedia
  2. Invidia
  3. Errors in My Bread
  4. Survivalism (by Nine Inch Nails) (deadmau5 Remix)
  5. Silent Picture
  6. Rlyehs Lament
  7. Superbia
  8. Mercedes
  9. Bleed
  10. Ira
  11. Monday
  12. A Moment to Myself
  13. Pets
  14. Coelacanth II
  15. Seeya (featuring Colleen D'Agostino)
Sign in to comment
No one has said anything yet.

Added on: June 12, 2014